Swiss Academy
of Ophthalmology

Congress 2022


Lucerne, 2nd – 4th  March, 2022

 6th SAoO Congress

SAVE THE DATE

SAoO Congress 2021

A member of the SAoO Board of Trustees in the service of space science


Dr Michael Bärtschi, a member of the SAoO Board of Trustees, is participating in research into microcirculation under weightless conditions, similar to what happens onboard the International Space Station ISS or for the planned space flights to the moon and Mars. His collaboration has been established at the request of the research team of the Department of Cardiology at the University of Düsseldorf, headed by Prof. Dr Christian Jung, and on behalf of the German Aerospace Centre (DLR).

Among other things, retinal microcirculation is assessed in relation to intraocular pressure under hyper-g (hypergravity) and Zero-G(weightlessness) conditions, and a long list of other vital physical and physiological blood parameters are taken and analysed.

In order to obtain clinically accurate intraocular pressure readings under the special weightless conditions, Dr Bärtschi had to design a helmet that met the very high safety standards of space travel to accommodate the rebound tonometer, as well as outsmarting the tonometer’s activation mechanisms for weightlessness. This was successfully achieved with the help of Swiss metal fabrication shops and technical assistance from iCare Finland and was technically tested and accepted by NoveSpace in 2021.

The first Zero-Gparabolic flight campaign to test the technology and safety ("proof of concept") was successfully conducted over the Atlantic Ocean in June 2021. Here are images of our 36th science campaign with the experiment set up onboard the Airbus 310 converted to these "zero-gravity" purposes during the hyper-g and Zero-G phases.

The second Zero-G parabolic flight campaign aiming at the vital in-vivo evaluation of all blood and circulation specific data is scheduled for February 2022, again over the Atlantic Ocean off the French coast.

Quality, research & training


The Swiss foundation for research and development in practical ophthalmology. We organise training, continuing and further education, including conferences for all professions related to ophthalmology. We support projects and satisfy all outpatient ophthalmology needs through the foundation.

read more

Swiss Academy
of Ophthalmology

Congrès 2022


Lucerne, 2 – 4  Mars, 2022

 6ème Congrès SAoO

SAVE THE DATE

SAoO Congress 2021

Un membre du Conseil de fondation de la SAoO au service de la science spatiale


À la demande de l’équipe de recherche du département de cardiologie de l’université de Düsseldorf, dirigée par le professeur Christian Jung, et au nom du Centre aérospatial allemand (DLR), le Dr Michael Bärtschi, membre de notre conseil de fondation, participe à des recherches sur la microcirculation en apesanteur, à l’instar de ce qui se passe à bord de la station spatiale internationale ISS ou lors des vols spatiaux prévus vers la Lune et Mars.

Entre autres choses, la microcirculation rétinienne est évaluée en fonction de la pression intraoculaire dans des conditions d’hypergravité et d’apesanteur, et une longue liste d’autres paramètres sanguins physiques et physiologiques vitaux sont prélevés et analysés.

Afin d’obtenir des mesures de pression intraoculaire cliniquement précises dans les conditions particulières de l’apesanteur, le Dr Bärtschi a dû concevoir un casque répondant aux normes de sécurité très élevées des voyages spatiaux afin d’accueillir le tonomètre à rebond et de déjouer les mécanismes d’activation du tonomètre en apesanteur. Ce projet a été réalisé avec l’aide d’ateliers suisses de fabrication métallique et l’assistance technique d’iCare Finlande, et a été testé techniquement et accepté par NoveSpace en 2021.

La première campagne de vol parabolique zéro-g pour tester la technologie et la sécurité ("Proof of concept ") a été menée avec succès au-dessus de l’océan Atlantique en juin 2021. Voici des images de notre 36e campagne scientifique avec le dispositif d’expérimentation à bord de l’Airbus 310 converti à ces fins de "gravité zéro" pendant les phases d’Hyper-G et de Zéro-G.

La deuxième campagne de vols paraboliques zéro-g visant l’évaluation in-vivo de toutes les données spécifiques au sang et à la circulation est prévue pour février 2022, toujours au-dessus de l’océan Atlantique, au large des côtes françaises.

Qualität, Forschung & Bildung


L'Institut suisse de recherches et de développement dans l’ophtalmologie pratique. Nous organisons des formations (également continues) y compris congrès pour tous les métiers se rapportant à l’ophtalmologie. Nous soutenons des programmes d'aide ainsi que tous les besoins particuliers de la médecine ambulante ophtalmologique.

À propos de l'Institut

 

Formulaire d'inscription pour les groupes de discussion par courriel pour l'échange de connaissances en ophtalmologie